giovedì 5 maggio 2016

Book Blast & Giveaway: Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel


Lies I Live By
by Lauren Sabel

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: YA Thriller

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT:


These are the basic facts about me:

I am 17.

I live in San Francisco.

I work for a secret governmental agency.

I spend many hours a day out of my mind.

I am a psychic spy.


                                                     ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TOPIC: “How do you, as an author, keep the suspense and thrills continuing throughout a story to make it a book you can’t put down?”

When I am writing the first draft of a book, the suspense in my writing comes from not knowing what will happen next. I am constantly surprising myself with the plot twists and turns and the character reveals that happen along the way. Many of these exciting surprises must be taken out later in the process as they won’t fit what the story becomes, or add anything to the story in the final version, but every single one is worth writing for the personal spine-tingle I get from it.  I hope that the ones that stay in the manuscript create that spine-tingling feeling in the reader because they really did surprise me too.

Writing tension into the following drafts is a bit trickier. Hopefully, by this point I won’t be surprised by my own plot and character twists (although it has happened before) because I will have outlined what will happen in each scene in order to make the plot work.

In these drafts, the tension comes from surprising myself again – but this time with how I use language. Even if I know what the plot twist/character reveal will be, I don’t know how I’m going to say it, and since a great deal of my love for writing comes from the act of twisting words into sentences that will keep a reader reading, it is just as fun.

In the final draft, I fine-tune the tension by cutting or adding specific words in order to keep the reader hanging on to one more page or one more chapter. This isn’t quite as fun because there is the ever-present awareness that these are the exact words readers will actually read, and that feels intimidating. But it’s still fun to choose these words carefully in order to make the most impact on a reader. If I can craft a normal sentence into a knock-out punch, I get to feel the spine-tingle again, and for me, that’s success.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:


Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing LIES I LIVE BY (pub May 2016). Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.

Social Networks:

Twitter: laurensabel
Instagram: laurensabel  AND liesiliveby

Book Purchase Links:

LIES I LIVE BY:




VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD:




~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION and RAFFLECOPTER CODE

Lauren will be awarding $50 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

19 commenti:

  1. Thanks for hosting. I appreciate it!
    Warmly,
    Lauren

    RispondiElimina
  2. can't wait to read, thanks for sharing!

    RispondiElimina
  3. Sounds like a great read. Thanks for sharing the giveaway too.

    RispondiElimina
  4. Thank you for hosting this awesome giveaway :)

    RispondiElimina
  5. This book sounds like a fascinating read! A psychic spy?! That's awesome. I've never even heard of the idea before...but I'm loving it! I hope to read this soon :)

    RispondiElimina
  6. Really great post, it's always fun getting a little peek into a writer's mind :). Thanks for sharing!

    RispondiElimina
  7. I enjoyed reading the guest post. This book sounds like such an interesting and intriguing read! Totally can't wait to check out this book!

    RispondiElimina
  8. I really enjoyed reading the entire post today. This is a new author for me but I would love to learn more! Thank you for the reveal!

    RispondiElimina
  9. Thank you for both the excerpt and giveaway

    RispondiElimina
  10. Sounds like a great read, thank you for sharing!

    RispondiElimina
  11. I love the sound of this book - good excerpt. What do you find is the most difficult thing for you as a writer? Thanks for the giveaway

    RispondiElimina
  12. Where is your favorite spot to read?

    RispondiElimina
  13. I really enjoyed reading the blurb & excerpt, thank you!

    RispondiElimina
  14. I really enjoyed the entire post. Thank you for sharing!

    RispondiElimina
  15. What a great idea for a book. It sounds really interesting!

    RispondiElimina
  16. Congrats on the new book and good luck on the book tour!

    RispondiElimina

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...